Pumpkin Soup


Pumpkin soup…I will consider that this soup is the healthiest kind of them all. To make my pumpkin soup exciting, I added a bunch of vegetables such as potato, kumara, onions, carrots & celery…hmmmm, sounds really healthy….Did you know that pumpkins are also high in Lutein & Zeaxanthin which protect the eyes against free radical damage and prevent formation of cataracts and degeneration of the eye tissues….

Ingredients: serves 12-15 bowls

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onions (diced)
  • 1 stalk celery (diced)
  • 1 pc medium carrots (diced)
  • 1 medium potato (diced)
  • 1 big pumpkin (approx 1.2-1.5 kls)
  • 1 cup cream
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 cups water or chicken stock
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • parsley for garnishing

Procedures:

  • Roast pumpkin for in oven at 180 degrees for 45 minutes or until well cooked. peel and let cool.
  • In a  large sauce pan, heat olive oil and saute onions for 2-3 minutes. add in all vegetables except pumpkin. seasoned with salt & pepper. simmer for about 5 minutes. add in water/stock & sugar, let it boil for another 5 minutes. add in pumpkin and stir well.
  • seasoned and adjust your taste through salt & pepper. lastly, add your cream and turn off fire.
  • puree soup into a blender or food processor in a little quantity (1-2 cups at a time)
  • best serve with garlic bread..
  • Enjoy!!!
About nors

a simple person who loves to cook!! .....so ride with me as we explore ........"a journey to different cuisines"

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Soups, Vegetable dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really love this soup…it’s rich in Vit. A and good for the eyes…my husband really knows what’s best for me ‘coz I am having an eye problem….

  2. After city whatever of your blogposts I staleness say i constitute this fact one to mostly be top snick. I hump a weblog also and want to repost a few shear of your articles on my own journal tract. Should it be alright if I use this as longish I own write your web journal or make a inward unite to your article I procured the snippet from? If not I see and could not do it without having your acceptance . I hit assemblage marked this article to sound and zynga chronicle willful for testimonial. Anyway appreciate it either way!

Leave a Reply

