Paksiw na Isda (Fish in vinegar)


Paksiw…….A dish that can last for a week. It is a dish made of fish cooked with vinegar and some seasonal vegetable such as ocra, eggplant, onions and raddish. It is a common dish in our country especially those who lives nearby the seas. I remember I used to live in a town somewhere in pangasinan(a province in the PHI), Where it is 90 percent surrounded by seas. Every time my uncle catches fish(minimum of 10 kilos of different kinds), We almost cook quarter of it as paksiw, other half might be fried fish or sinaing because we don’t have a refrigerator that time to keep all the fish. Those I mentioned method of fish cooking can last for 4 days to a week without keeping it to your fridge.  On the background is my little daughter. She is my model for this “paksiw pictorial” She doesn’t want to leave the plate so I didn’t get a chance to take a clear shot. So decided to have her as my model………………….Did you know that vinegar is the main ingredients to this recipe? and Vinegar is touted as a healing wonder tonic. It seems like it can cure everything. People claim that it can help you lose weight and that if you eat a teaspoon of it, you’ll be immune to mosquitoes. Believe it or not? try it?………..

Ingredients: serves 4-6 persons

  • 1 kilo fish cut into half(preferably small fish like mackarel, trevalry or sanma)
  • 1 cup vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 pc eggplant sliced into serving sizes
  • 10 pcs ocra
  • 1 pc medium sliced onions
  • 1 thumb size ginger sliced
  • 1/2 cup water or rice wash

Procedures:

  • In a wide sauce pan, just place and arrange all ingredients together and bring to a boil for about 15 minutes. that’s it.
  • Serve hot!

About noris

a simple person who loves to cook!! .....so ride with me as we explore ........"a journey to different cuisines" . Bringing the restaurant flavour to your home...

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Fish, Mains and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Paborito ni mommy yan, sana sinama mo to sa 7 course meal. Babagay kaya 🙂

  2. sarap ng paksiw noh….babagay bro….

  3. The only cure I *know* for certain that I’d get from vinegar is that if I ate too much of it my *husband* would become immune to *me*. So I’ll be careful if I try the mosquito trick! 😉 But the fish dish has a really intriguing combination of ingredients (the okra surprised me) that ought to be quite nice together. Maybe something to have when my spouse is off on a trip! 🙂

  4. That is a pretty dish, of course it is dressed up by your daughter 😉 I will be a fun one to try, my husband loves everything pickled.

  5. Awe. Your daughter’s really cute! 🙂 And the dish looks yummy. I have never heard of vinegar being able to ward off mosquitoes. Really? I have to try it sometime because I hate getting bitten by those pesky things.

  6. Such a cute picutre with the smiling face in there!

  7. MY parents´ favorite dish! We always cook the Visayan version…the one with coconut milk (gata) & then we add sili ( pepper) !

Leave a comment